Biden Announces Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipients

President Joe Biden will award the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor, to 19 individuals including politicians, activists, and other notable figures, the White House announced on Friday.

According to a White House news release, the recipients are being recognized for their significant contributions to shaping America’s progress through teamwork, coalition-building, and innovative leadership.

Among the honorees are well-known figures such as former Vice President Al Gore, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, and Representative James Clyburn, whose endorsement was pivotal in President Biden’s 2020 campaign. Also included is Elizabeth Dole, a former Republican senator and advocate for military caregivers.

The list of recipients also highlights individuals who have broken barriers in their respective fields, including actor Michelle Yeoh, astronaut Ellen Ochoa, and Jim Thorpe, the first Native American Olympic gold medalist. Olympic swimmer Katie Ledecky, a record-breaking athlete with seven Olympic gold medals, is also among the awardees.

Posthumous honors will be given to historical figures such as Jim Thorpe, Senator Frank Lautenberg, and civil rights leader Medgar Evers. The awards ceremony will take place at the White House.