Any local government or official attempting to enforce mask wearing in Texas will face fine of $1000.
Texas Governor Greg Abbott has issued an executive order banning the enforcement of mask wearing in the state, and will issue fines of up to $1000 to any official who attempts to do so.
The order will come into full effect on June 4th and will apply everywhere, including in schools, with the only exceptions being hospitals and prisons.
As of May 21st the fines can be issued to any government entity that attempts to make people in the state wear a face mask.
Abbot said that “Texans, not government, should decide their best health practices, which is why masks will not be mandated by public school districts or government entities.”