Sen. Johnson Protecting American Sovereignty Against World Health Organization Overreach: ‘No WHO Pandemic Preparedness Treaty Without Senate Approval Act’

Last week, U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) introduced the ‘No WHO Pandemic Preparedness Treaty Without Senate Approval Act,’ legislation requiring any convention or agreement resulting from the work of the World Health Organization’s (WHO) intergovernmental negotiating body to be deemed a treaty.

The act also requires the advice and consent of a supermajority of the Senate, according to a press release from Sen. Johnson’s office

The WHO is moving forward with its pandemic treaty process and the drafting will begin on Feb 27, continuing into 2024, Reuters reports.

Johnson believes the Biden Administration’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic has “failed” and that the WHO’s work amid the crisis represents “mismanagement.”

“Americans remain skeptical of continuing infringements on personal liberties and freedoms,” Johnson’s press release reads. “The legislation would provide more transparency in WHO agreements and a constitutional check on the administration.”

The Wisconsin senator went on to say that such failure “should not be rewarded with a new international treaty that would increase the WHO’s power at the expense of American sovereignty.”

“I’m proud to reintroduce this legislation to hold the WHO accountable for their failures and increase transparency for the American people,” he went on to say in the release. “The sovereignty of the United States is not negotiable.”

Johnson told American Faith that early in the pandemic, “it became obvious that the WHO was being unduly influenced by China,” calling out the global body’s relationship with one of America’s top adversaries.

“Any agreement that the Biden Administration reaches with the WHO should be deemed a treaty and come before the Senate for ratification,” the senator added. “That process remains the best safeguard of U.S. sovereignty—which should never be surrendered.”

Johnson introduced the legislation in May 2022.

The press release notes the following senators have also signed on to the bill: Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), and Katie Britt (R-Ala.).

Read the full bill below: