Russia’s List of ‘Unfriendly Countries’

Russian government approves list of “unfriendly countries and territories” that imposed or joined the sanctions against Russia after the start of its military operation in Ukraine.


  • The Government of the Russian Federation approved Monday a list of foreign states and territories that commit unfriendly actions against Russia, its companies, and citizens, The Russian News Agency (TASS) reports.
  • The countries and territories mentioned in the list imposed or joined the sanctions against Russia after the start of a special military operation of the Russian Armed Forces in Ukraine.
  • The government noted that according to this decree, Russian citizens and companies, the state itself, its regions and municipalities that have foreign exchange obligations to foreign creditors from the list of unfriendly countries will be able to pay them in rubles, according to TASS.
  • The new temporary procedure applies to payments exceeding 10 mln rubles per month (or a similar amount in foreign currency).
  • United States
  • EU states
  • UK (including Jersey, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Gibraltar)
  • Ukraine
  • Montenegro
  • Switzerland
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Monaco
  • Norway
  • San Marino
  • North Macedonia
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Australia
  • Micronesia
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • TikTok and Netflix have joined the growing list of international companies suspending functions of their platforms in Russia.
  • “We will continue to evaluate the evolving circumstances in Russia to determine when we might fully resume our services with safety as our top priority,” TikTok said
  • “Given the circumstances on the ground, we have decided to suspend our service in Russia,” a spokesperson for Netflix was quoted as saying.