Republicans Vow to Stop Cooperating With Dem-Controlled Senate After Trump’s Guilty Verdict

Republican senators signed a public letter to the White House this week, promising to stop cooperating with Democrats in the wake of former President Trump’s guilty verdict. 

“As a Senate Republican conference, we are unwilling to aid and abet this White House in its project to tear this country apart,” Sen. Mike Lee, (R-UT) said.

“Strongly worded statements are not enough. Those who turned our judicial system into a political cudgel must be held accountable. We are no longer cooperating with any Democrat legislative priorities or nominations, and we invite all concerned Senators to join our stand,” Lee continued.

Senators JD Vance, (R-OH); Tommy Tuberville, (R-AL); Eric Schmitt, (R-MO); Marsha Blackburn, (R-TN); Rick Scott, (R-FL); Roger Marshall, (R-KS); Marco Rubio, (R-FL); Ron Johnson, (R-WI); and Josh Hawley, (R-MO) also signed the letter.

The senators said they wouldn’t allow “any appropriations bill which funds partisan lawfare.”