List of 12 Republicans Who Voted to Advance Same-Sex Marriage Bill Includes Mitt Romney

  1. Roy Blunt
  2. Richard Burr
  3. Shelley Capito
  4. Susan Collins
  5. Cynthia Lummis
  6. Rob Portman
  7. Mitt Romney
  8. Dan Sullivan
  9. Thom Tillis
  10. Joni Ernst
  11. Lisa Murkowski
  12. Todd Young

The U.S. Senate voted Wednesday to advance the so-called ‘Respect for Marriage Act’ (H.R. 8404), which “provides statutory authority for same-sex and interracial marriages” and revokes provisions that define marriage as between a man and a woman.

From The Daily Signal:

The legislation also “repeals and replaces provisions that do not require states to recognize same-sex marriages from other states with provisions that prohibit the denial of full faith and credit or any right or claim relating to out-of-state marriages on the basis of sex, race, ethnicity, or national origin,” allows “the Department of Justice to bring a civil action,” and “establishes a private right of action for violations.”

Democratic advocates say the legislation promotes equality, but religious leaders strongly warned that it explicitly targets people of faith.

“Make no mistake,” Alliance Defending Freedom President Kristen Waggoner warned, “this bill will be used by officials and activists to punish and ruin those who do not share the government’s view on marriage.”

On Wednesday, H.R. 8404 received 62 “aye” votes and 37 “no” votes.